Clarendon County Planning Commission

The purpose of the Clarendon County Planning Commission is to provide a continuous planning program to manage the growth and development of Clarendon County to provide for sound economical growth while protecting our natural resources, preserving our agricultural lands and encouraging residential growth in existing suburban and residentially compatible areas. The policies, goals and objectives of this plan are set out in the Clarendon County Comprehensive Plan. The regulations used to enforce the plan are known as the Clarendon County Unified Development Code.
The Unified Development Code brings together all of the different county laws and ordinances relative to land use and development. These are all the laws that have been put into place by the Clarendon County Council to obtain the goals and objectives of the Comprehensive Plan. They consist of: Zoning classifications and districts, listings of permitted and non-permitted uses for each district; site development criteria; subdivision regulations; road construction regulations; building codes; erosion control and stormwater management regulations; flood damage prevention regulations; and public water and sewer service regulations. The Unified Development Code also provides for fines and penalties for failure to comply with the regulations. The combination of these regulations creates the minimum standards for land development and building construction in Clarendon County to protect our citizens and resources – present and future.
All citizens in Clarendon County should be aware that the planning, zoning and building codes are in effect county wide. Before you divide, sell or buy property, you should contact the Planning Commission Department for zoning and subdivision information to determine whether or not you can divide or use the property for the purpose intended. To obtain zoning certification in most cases, you simply need a tax map number and/or a recorded plat. Before you begin construction to erect any structure or place, replace or move a manufactured home in Clarendon County, you must contact the Planning Commission Department for zoning certification and a building or manufactured home permit.

The Planning Commission Department is located at 411 Sunset Drive in Manning.
The office operating hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m..

The telephone number is 803-435-8672 or email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
Available to assist you in the day-to-day operations of the planning, zoning and building department are:
Maria Rose, Director
Lucille O’Brien, Planning/Zoning Coordinator
Angela Williams, Administrative Assistant
Adam Lowry, Building Official
Onta Parson, Building Inspector

2011 Unified Development Code

Table of Contents


Unified Development Code Applications

Comprehensive Plan 2018 - 2028

Meetings and Notices

Assessment Board of Appeals            Name                                                     Term Expires                               W.Tommy Benton                                           6/30/2020                                                   Donald Bethume                                             6/30/2020                                                    W.Stanley Moore                                            10/31/2019                                                Bon Gardner (Chairman)                                6/30/2020  Julie Rickenbaker                                           11/12/2019

Tax Accommodation Commission         Name                                                                   Term Expires LeBon Joye                                                                   At Large Bob Patel                                                                      12/31/2020 Nizae Awde                                                                   04/30-2023 Joey Moore                                                                    12/31/16 Arun Bivek                                                                      12/31/2020 Lannes C. Prothro, IV                                                     02/28/2023 Henry Campbell

Library Board         Names                                                                           Term Expires Ericka Floyd                                                                          11/30/2020         Mary Jane Howard                                                                 5/31/2021 Arlene H. Ham                                                                       12/31/2019 James L. Welch                                                                       6/30/2022 Shannon Morgan                                                                     7/31/2021 Catherine Coffey                                                                      3/31/2020 Lindsey Moberg                                                                        3/31/2020

Aeronautics Commission          Name                                                           Term Expires Walter David Young                                               6/30/23 Doug J. Hontz                                                        6/30/19 Michael Huizenda                                                  6/30/23 Howard Elkins                                                        6/30/19 Lawrence I. Gibbons                                               6/30/19